Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht Descentforum.DE
Suchen | FAQ | Mitgliederliste | Benutzergruppen | Newsfeed Newsfeed  Registrieren
Profil | Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen | Login 
Chat | D3-Taktik | Downloads | Karte | Links | Serverliste | Teamspeak 

Problem setting up Descent 3 on my Windows 7 machine.

 
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen    Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen :: Nächstes Thema anzeigen  
Autor Nachricht
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 16.03.2012, 01:52    Titel: Problem setting up Descent 3 on my Windows 7 machine. Antworten mit Zitat

I loaded Descent 3 disk 1 into the CD drive bout it does not auto load. I cannot locate the "setup.exe" file to begin setup.
Please help. big Newbie here.
Thanks in advance
BRAD
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 16.03.2012, 13:31    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Welcome Brad!

I'd recommend to open up the Windows Explorer ([WINDOWS key] + [E]) - look up your CD / DVD disk drive - right click it - select "Autorun" near the top.

An easy way to look up which would be the starting executable you could open up the Autorun.inf (in notepad) and check which EXE / MSI is mentioned there.

Any further questions - let us know!

I moved your question to the English embassy - hope you're fine with that...

Thanks!
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 16.03.2012, 15:18    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

I tried these reccomendations. But when I open my CD and click on Autorun nothing happens (it shows only 1kb). I can't find the Autorun.inf file either.
My system is 64 bit and I see that my Descent program is 32 bit so that is probably the problem.
Also, how can I post directly into the English Embassy section?
Thanks so much.
Brad
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
DigiJo
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 12.02.2002
Beiträge: 942
Wohnort: Niedersachsen

BeitragVerfasst am: 16.03.2012, 15:50    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Hey Brad, welcome to this boards!

The files name would be autorun.inf and is located in the root folder of the install-cd. But on stock windows installs, the file extension is hidden so you would only see a file "autorun", probably 1k in size.

This file is only a plain text-file with the instructions for windows for the autostart. If you load this file into Notepad you can see where the install / setup.exe is located and start it manual.

Regards,
Digi

edit:typo


Zuletzt bearbeitet von DigiJo am 16.03.2012, 15:52, insgesamt einmal bearbeitet
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 16.03.2012, 18:11    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

You need to right click the drive - not the CD content - did you get that right?

I don't have a CD ROM in my Win7 64bit box and it is in German also so I don't know the exact wording Smilie

If the option is not "Autorun" it may just be "play".

I got alomost all CD versions there are - so if you explain me how your disk looks like I should be able load
the disk on another box and point to to the correct installer file.

Is there no "install" file? or was there a subdirectory called like that?

D3 will definitely run on a Win7 64bit however...
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 17.03.2012, 11:14    Titel: I need more help. Antworten mit Zitat

Thanks for all your help.
I was able to install D3 on my machine.
In setup under controls I set up moving forward and back. Then it asked me to click PAD1 / POV-1 to setup a slide. I donl't understand PAD! / POV-L.
And there is only a few moving target "Bad Guys" to shoot add. Is there any way too increase the number of moving targets?
Thanks You have been a big help!!!
Brad


Zuletzt bearbeitet von BRADF1 am 17.03.2012, 12:05, insgesamt einmal bearbeitet
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Atan
Moderator


Anmeldungsdatum: 27.07.2001
Beiträge: 876

BeitragVerfasst am: 17.03.2012, 16:00    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Hi BRADF1,
if you want some instant action with bots you may try the D3 mission FIRING RANGE.

As far as I know you can't increase the amount of bots inside D3. Switch to insane to make missions harder.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 17.03.2012, 18:30    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Thanks
Where do I find "Firing Range"?
Brad
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 17.03.2012, 19:26    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

BRADF1 hat folgendes geschrieben:
Thanks
Where do I find "Firing Range"?
Brad


http://d3fischlein.de/levels/scripts/counter.php?id=42
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 17.03.2012, 19:33    Titel: Re: I need more help. Antworten mit Zitat

BRADF1 hat folgendes geschrieben:

In setup under controls I set up moving forward and back. Then it asked me to click PAD1 / POV-1 to setup a slide. I donl't understand PAD! / POV-L.


PAD = The number pad on your keyboard (the right one) so PAD1 = Number key 1 on the key pad

POV = point of view. Should be the coolie hat (the little one that you normally use with the thumb) if you're using a joystick. POV-L is pushing the coolie hat to left then.

You're welcome. Have fun!

If you want more action - go to www.slyclan.de and download Vortex.

You can enter the chat with that, download missions and mods and also join online multiplayer games.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 14:05    Titel: Can't get rid of reigistration request Antworten mit Zitat

Hi
Well, thanks to all of you, I'm enjoying D3 very much.
I only have one problem. Every time I start D3, I get a screen asking me to register. I did, by mail but still get the sceen. If I click "Later" I get another screen asking if i really want to forfeit benefits.
How can I get rid of these screens and request?
Thanks in advance
Brad
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Atan
Moderator


Anmeldungsdatum: 27.07.2001
Beiträge: 876

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 14:31    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Remember to upgrade to version 1.4.
http://www.descentforum.de/forum/downloads.php

How to "skip" the registration:
Locate Descent 3's main directory (by default C:\Games\Descent3 or C:\Program files\Descent 3)
Look for a folder called "ereg". Delete that folder "ereg" including all of its contents.
"ereg" and its contents is not required to run the game.


Zuletzt bearbeitet von Atan am 18.03.2012, 14:31, insgesamt einmal bearbeitet
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 15:04    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Is that the GOG version asking for that? Never seen that...
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Atan
Moderator


Anmeldungsdatum: 27.07.2001
Beiträge: 876

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 15:50    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

While installing from my D3 CD (US) and starting the first time.
Look to the attached picture please..



register.JPG
 Beschreibung:
 Dateigröße:  64.3 KB
 Angeschaut:  304 mal

register.JPG


Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 15:53    Titel: ereg deleted Antworten mit Zitat

Also, I don't know what version I have.
Where can I look?
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Anmeldungsdatum: 19.11.2000
Beiträge: 7567
Wohnort: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 16:18    Titel: Re: ereg deleted Antworten mit Zitat

BRADF1 hat folgendes geschrieben:
Also, I don't know what version I have.
Where can I look?


Well Atan knows the answer - as in - just delete the whole ereg folder.

The version you got is displayed at the very bottom right after you launched into Descent 3 (the "sun menu").

Atan's recommendation to load the US 1.4 patch is correct.
Download the file below into your Descent 3 main directory (or put it there - that's where the main.exe and the Descent3.exe reside, too) and launch it from there.

http://www.descentforum.de/download/D3_US_1.4_Patch.EXE
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Marix
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 30.05.2001
Beiträge: 980
Wohnort: Germany

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 19:58    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Do_Checkor hat folgendes geschrieben:
Is that the GOG version asking for that? Never seen that...


I have that problem with the US Jewelcase version (D3 + Merc)

_________________
„Der einzige Weg, die Grenzen des Möglichen zu finden, ist ein klein wenig über diese hinaus in das Unmögliche vorzustoßen.“
--Arthur C. Clarke
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 20:07    Titel: Mt version Antworten mit Zitat

Is Ver V1.0
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
BRADF1
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 16.03.2012
Beiträge: 23

BeitragVerfasst am: 18.03.2012, 20:20    Titel: Downloading Patch Antworten mit Zitat

I downloaded the patch and opened it in my D3 main file. Doesn't seem to be a problem.
Thanks
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:   
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen    Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 2 Stunden
Seite 1 von 1

 
Gehe zu:  
Du kannst keine Beiträge in dieses Forum schreiben.
Du kannst auf Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht antworten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht bearbeiten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.
Du kannst an Umfragen in diesem Forum nicht mitmachen.
Du kannst Dateien in diesem Forum posten
Du kannst Dateien in diesem Forum herunterladen


Descent is a trademark of Interplay Productions.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is © Outrage Entertainment.
Descentforum.DE and Descentforum.NET is © by Martin "Do_Checkor" Timmermann.
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group