Descentforum.DE Forum Index Descentforum.DE
Search | FAQ | Memberlist | Usergroups | Newsfeed Newsfeed  Register
Profile | Log in to check your private messages | Log in 
Chat | D3-Tactics | Downloads | Map | Links | Serverlist | Teamspeak 

script help
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Descentforum.DE Forum Index -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 05.05.2004, 01:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything is working.

after nr9 in script 003 I havecondition (closeDoor)=Timer ID not (true), is that ok?

as far as the switch goes, it works everytime right now, maybe I did something wrong? if not then lets move on...

as far as the goody goes, hmmm..... is it making a script that will allow objects to become destroyed?
Sehr glücklich

NightmareUSA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 05.05.2004, 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I made a fault there, sorry!
it should be like this:

if the following condition is met:
(CloseDoor)=(TIMER ID)

I changed this in 9.

Destroying something is possible, but....
We must own something with Flag destroyable set.
Or, we must hide it and send some 'frag pieces' to the location where that object was.
I believe there are a few ways to do Scripting always, just need an idea and some knowledge. Sometimes you must work with a few different pieces out of Descent. (i.e. the LevelScript, Custom script inside the Levelscript, custom objects, GAM File
clutter.dll.) But most things are doable using Dallas only.


ok, I would like to know if that timer thing is working for you now as discribed.

If, we can go ahed to the 'limit an action'
Easy way first:
If you right click on
Then perform the following actions
-> Select max times to execute
-> Once
will do what we need.

Where should we insert this?
Remember, goal was to open the door one time only.


Last edited by Atan on 05.05.2004, 17:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 05.05.2004, 19:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

timings are working well.

The switch animation speed is a little strange bacause it it goes down and up really quickly.

I will try to limit the action tonight after work.

Thanks,

NightmareUSA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 05.05.2004, 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

The animation 'speed' in
---
Play object Sound animation from frame 0 to 20, cycle time = 1.00, looping=FALSE
---
is set by the 'cycle time'

it is set to 1.00 here,
just increase to i.e. 5.0 and see how it looks like.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 06.05.2004, 04:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

I inserted that into the play sound script and it worked perfect! Everything is working just right. I like the animation better too. I am ready for the next assignment. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 06.05.2004, 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

Second way, with a little more output as usual, look carefully Winken

!!! Remove that 'Select maxt times... !!!

Generate a new message with the following text:

%d chances left

name this message: TellMe

Use the UserTypeWorkshop to generate a new UserVar, name it: count

Add a line in Level Start Script:
Set user var count to 5.0

Changes in Script001:
//--------

Script001: PlaySound

Owner: Sound

Event: Collided (With IT)

if the following condition is met :
AND
(IT is a player weapon)= (TRUE)
(User Variable count) > (0.0)

then perform following actions:
Play 2D Sound Bell for player object IT Volume 100%
Play object Sound animation from frame 0 to 20, cycle time = 5.00, looping=FALSE

Set door MyDoor position to 100%

Generate level timer event in 10 seconds using with ID CloseDoor

Decrement user var count

Show HUD message TellMe (User Variable count (integer))

Do Nothing
--------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, this is a little complicated, so I'll try to tell what should happen:
At level start we preset a variable with 5 (i.e.)
if we hit the switch the script looks if it is a player weapon
and if our variable is > 0.
If this conditions are ok, the script starts our known actions and
decrement the variable (now 4)
then shows the text '4 chances left'
( %d is like a placeholder. %f would show floating point value)
This is a great way to show count actions in D3!

If our variable reaches 0 the script will show '0 chances left'
but each following hit will be ignored by this script now.
(because the condition is not true...)

Try it out until it works for you like discribed.
Be careful to hit the switch only once to trigger it, i.e. use a flare.
then try out what will happen if you shoot the switch rapidly with your lasers.
What trouble occur in this case?


Last edited by Atan on 20.05.2004, 11:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 06.05.2004, 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand this first part "!!! Remove that 'Select maxt times... !!!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 07.05.2004, 05:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the 'lesson' before:

Easy way first:
If you right click on
Then perform the following actions
-> Select max times to execute
-> Once
will do what we need.



This must be removed again, no limit at this action again.
Ok?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 08.05.2004, 02:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I will try this by saturday after work at the latest, but may be able to do it tonight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 11.05.2004, 04:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

well it decrements ok but my variable is not showing correctly in the hud. The cout is huge (1790268432) and does not change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 11.05.2004, 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at this line please:
/--
Show HUD message TellMe (User Variable count (integer))
/--
how did you insert it in Dallas?
should be done like here:

Insert new action -> Misc->Show Hud Message[Message] [Integer]

then -> RightClick on Message: No ID choosen
-> choose 'TellMe'

then -> RightClick Integer:0
-> Replace with Querry -> User Vars -> User Variable [UserVar](Integer)

Now RightClick UserVar : None
and select 'count'

Should work.
Otherwise send me your level including the x.cpp and x.msg please
so I could look where (I) made a fault.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 13.05.2004, 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will be working on this today. This is finals week at school so I could not work on scripting as much. tomorrow is last day of classes! Auf den Arm nehmen

By the way I sent you a PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 20.05.2004, 09:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah school is out for the summer! too bad I have summer school class heheh that starts in one week. "Digital logic"

email sent Atan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 20.05.2004, 11:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looked into your script,
you choosed the wrong message command there.
Look at my last post ( 11 Mai 2004 ) to see how to do.

I changed that line in your cpp, have a look.

BTW, seems we must change ' >= 0 ' to '>'.
otherwise we would have one chance too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightmareUSA
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: New York USA

PostPosted: 03.07.2004, 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Atan,

Sorry I Have been away so long. I have been feverishly trying to finish my new level "A Creeping Death", and working on my new website called www.moreclang.com when I my computer went flaky on me. Well I lost most of my computer stuff and just got D3 reloaded last night. I still have to get dallas working again. I will send you an email to let you know when I will be ready to continue so you don't have to keep checking this thread.

Thanks for all your help with the scripting so far! Once I get things working again the first thing on my plate is getting my new level "A Creeping Death" released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insurrectionist
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: 23.09.2004, 14:27    Post subject: d3 Editor Reply with quote

Ok I've been following this and was wondering why I can't find a switch object in the d3 editor can some help me a little bit Weinen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Joined: 19 Nov 2000
Posts: 7768
Location: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

PostPosted: 23.09.2004, 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no clue on this, Ins, but Welcome to Descentforum.DE, man... Smilie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atan
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2001
Posts: 876

PostPosted: 23.09.2004, 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

My last info about this little 'scripting-workshop' was that Checkor said we choosed the wrong board...

So let's first know Checkor where I can go ahead, which is the right Board?
Maybe you could transfer all related post to this new location then?

You can find the switch object inside the D3Edit object-bar.
If you still can't get 'where and how' let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Do_Checkor
Administrator


Joined: 19 Nov 2000
Posts: 7768
Location: Oldenburg (Oldb.)

PostPosted: 23.09.2004, 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naa - forget about that. If someday the hell happens on this forum I'll have a look on this again, but today I dunno of a better place...
I mean if you WANT me to move this topic, lemme know, but I think it's not necessary...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insurrectionist
Forum-Nutzer


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: 23.09.2004, 17:11    Post subject: Switch Objects Reply with quote

ok i'm went thru the object bar and I got powerups robots clutter and buildings. I went Thru these and still don't see a Switch I also have the min Install becuase my cd is messed up and thats the only way it will install could this be the problem? Traurig

Thx for the welcome Do_Checkor


Last edited by Insurrectionist on 23.09.2004, 17:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Descentforum.DE Forum Index -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
PayPal


Descent is a trademark of Interplay Productions.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is © Outrage Entertainment.
Descentforum.DE and Descentforum.NET is © by Martin "Do_Checkor" Timmermann.
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group