Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht Descentforum.DE
Suchen | FAQ | Mitgliederliste | Benutzergruppen | Newsfeed Newsfeed  Registrieren
Profil | Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen | Login 
Chat | D3-Taktik | Downloads | Karte | Links | Serverliste | Teamspeak 

Dallas

 
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen    Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen :: Nächstes Thema anzeigen  
Autor Nachricht
LEON
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 11.01.2005
Beiträge: 65
Wohnort: Norway

BeitragVerfasst am: 22.01.2017, 14:57    Titel: Dallas Antworten mit Zitat

Hi.

Anyone knows how to get dallas working under Windows 10.

Thanks Smilie

_________________
Skills are worthless if it doesn't makes you a better person.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Roadrunner
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 24.02.2001
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Germany

BeitragVerfasst am: 22.01.2017, 15:39    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

For me it runs under Win10. Where do you have problems?
_________________
Wie kann jemand aus dem Rahmen fallen wenn er nich mal im Bild[e] is ?
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
LEON
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 11.01.2005
Beiträge: 65
Wohnort: Norway

BeitragVerfasst am: 22.01.2017, 16:33    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Well, actually, I don't know. I just remember some years ago, when I had XP, I had to do some changes in my OS-settings. I don't remember where and how (I followed some guidance from a D3edit site). So I just asumed one had to do it in W10 as well.
For now, I just run D3edit, is it like, I can just open dallas and start scripting, and everythings fine?

_________________
Skills are worthless if it doesn't makes you a better person.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
LEON
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 11.01.2005
Beiträge: 65
Wohnort: Norway

BeitragVerfasst am: 22.01.2017, 16:35    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Ah, found the site: http://www.gameedit.net/custom/GameEdit_OG/papacat/scrpt01.html
_________________
Skills are worthless if it doesn't makes you a better person.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Thomas
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 07.02.2008
Beiträge: 231

BeitragVerfasst am: 03.12.2017, 20:04    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

If you download D3Edit's installation program from http://www.dateiliste.com/en/descent-3/72-descent-3-level-and-mission-editor-d3edit.html it should actually do this automatically provided there's no space in the installation path, plus it's probably more up-to-date.

But as far as I remember it doesn't contain the very latest executable.


Zuletzt bearbeitet von Thomas am 03.12.2017, 20:06, insgesamt einmal bearbeitet
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Hunter
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 14.08.2006
Beiträge: 24

BeitragVerfasst am: 04.12.2017, 19:37    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

I have a problem on one of my systems where setting up EGCS doesn't work properly. The BIN;%path% part of the text is replaced with a bunch of Java system paths.
Will try to diagnose..
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Thomas
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 07.02.2008
Beiträge: 231

BeitragVerfasst am: 05.12.2017, 00:20    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Since I was the one who wrote the D3Edit installer (which comes with a working EGCS) I can guarrantee that there's no Java-like paths anywhere in it. Not sure now if the source code is downloadable but my intention is to make it downloadable and examinable. If there's anything Java-like in your path variable it definitely can't come from that installer.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Thomas
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 07.02.2008
Beiträge: 231

BeitragVerfasst am: 05.12.2017, 00:25    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

A few weeks back I installed that package and had an issue with the space character the D3 version from Dateiliste uses (...Program Files\Descent3). The virtual compiler together with D3Edit doesn't like spaces in the folder names. After resolving it it still didn't work until I figured that D3Edit - once invoked - stores its own copy of the Dallas path, hence solving the original issue is not enough in that case. The registry part for D3Edit needs to be corrected too.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Hunter
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 14.08.2006
Beiträge: 24

BeitragVerfasst am: 05.12.2017, 17:06    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

My problem was from manual setup. It works fine on one computer, not at all on the other. But yes, I see the installer fixes the problem (providing the directories have no spaces..) .. BUT, is there a way to fix the 'invalid sound' errors in dallas? I'm trying to work on a level ported from another computer, but the damn editor says the sounds are missing - even though they are listed in the CPP.

Edit: Seems that moving to another computer and editing a script results in some strange limitation on custom sounds - luckily I was able to work around it.


Zuletzt bearbeitet von Hunter am 05.12.2017, 17:59, insgesamt 3-mal bearbeitet
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Thomas
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 07.02.2008
Beiträge: 231

BeitragVerfasst am: 05.12.2017, 20:14    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

It's not just custom sounds. D3Edit stores all settings in the registry. This means you need to manually create every profile again, and in the same way they were set up on the other machine.

Exporting that registry hive and then importing it on the new computer is an option too but not recommended since different versions of Windows use different locations inside the registry for the same thing.
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Hunter
Forum-Nutzer


Anmeldungsdatum: 14.08.2006
Beiträge: 24

BeitragVerfasst am: 05.12.2017, 22:46    Titel: Antworten mit Zitat

Nope, it seems something in the GOG version of D3 messes up D3EDIT. It seems to 'cut' the custom table data, with missing textures, sounds and objects everywhere. After uninstalling it and installing D3 from the original CDs, D3EDIT now functions properly and dallas does not report missing sound names Smilie
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:   
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen    Descentforum.DE Foren-Übersicht -> English Embassy / International Descenters Forum Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 2 Stunden
Seite 1 von 1

 
Gehe zu:  
Du kannst keine Beiträge in dieses Forum schreiben.
Du kannst auf Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht antworten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht bearbeiten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.
Du kannst an Umfragen in diesem Forum nicht mitmachen.
Du kannst Dateien in diesem Forum posten
Du kannst Dateien in diesem Forum herunterladen


Descent is a trademark of Interplay Productions.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is © Outrage Entertainment.
Descentforum.DE and Descentforum.NET is © by Martin "Do_Checkor" Timmermann.
Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group